THE AWARD OF POST-GRADUATE SCHOLARSHIP BY - DR. FOLA AWOKOYA AT 6TH ANNUAL LECTURE OF THE STEPHEN OLUWOLE AWOKOYA FOUNDATION FOR SCIENCE EDUCATION 29TH MARCH, 2001

Mr. Chairman, The Special Guest of Honor, His Excellency The Executive Governor of Ogun State Chief Olusegun Osoba The Guest Speaker, Professor Mabogunje The Chairman and Members of the board of trustees Distinguished Ladies and gentlemen

It is my distinct honor and priviledge to present the Awardees of the Stephen Oluwole Awokoya Foundation For Science Education Postgraduate Scholarship.

Since the inauguration of the Foundation in 1995, The Stephen Oluwole Awokoya Foundation for Science Education has made a yearly award of postgraduate Scholarship for studies in the areas of science and science education.

To date the Foundation has made a total of Eleven Postgraduate scholarship awards.

The course programs that the postgraduate scholarship awards have been used for has included Maths/Science and Special Education, Clinical Pharmacy, Chemical Pathology, Medicine and Engineering.

The beneficiaries of these awards have attended varied institutions including The University of Ibadan, Ahmadu Bello University, University Of Lagos, University of Maiduguri, University of Ilorin and the Obafemi Awolowo University.

The process for the award of the scholarship starts with the nomination of candidates by the deans of the various faculties (or heads of departments) related to science or science education at tertiary institutions in Nigeria. The scholarship awardees are chosen based on excellence in educational performance, stated long-term objectives and an interview of the short-listed candidates by the Board of Trustees.

The postgraduate scholarship award covers tuition and board, and it has a value of the order of fifty thousand Naira (N=50,000) per student per annum.

It is renewable each year, for a maximum of three years, provided the awardee maintains a good record of academic performance as attested to by the authorities of the university he or she attends.

This year, the three postgraduate scholarship awardees are an exceptional bunch. First of all, they all had distinctions in ALL the subject they took for their O'Level exams. Secondly they all had first class honors or distinctions in their bachelor's degree.

The first awardee for the Postgraduate Scholarship award of the Stephen Oluwole Awokoya Foundation for Science Education in the year 2001 is

Mr. Chukwuemeka Sylvester Nworu

Mr. Nworu, please come up to the rostrum.

Mr. Nworu is 25 years old and he attended the Mary Slessor Secondary Technical School in Arochukwu, Abia State.

At the Mary Slessor Secondary School, he obtained distinctions in all the nine subjects he took for his West Africa Examination Council Senior School Certificate Examinations.

He later attended the University of Nigeria, Nsukka where he was the best graduating student in the faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences in 1999.

He had an excellent record of receiving distinction grades in all the professional courses of his final Pharmacy degree examination.

Mr. Nworu is being awarded a scholarship in order to pursue postgraduate studies in Pharmacology and Toxicology at the University of Nigeria, Nsukka.

The second awardee is

Mr. John Oluseun Oyelakin.

Mr. Oyelakin, please come up to the rostrum.

Mr. Oyelakin is 25 years old. He attended Federal Government College, Ogbomosho, Oyo State, where he obtained distinctions in all the nine subjects he took for his West Africa Examination Council Senior School Certificate Examinations.

Mr. Oyelakin later attended the University of Ibadan for a Bachelor of Science course at the department of Mechanical Engineering, Faculty of Technology.

He was on the Dean's honours list. He graduated with a first class honours degree and he was the top student in his graduating class as well the top student in the entire Faculty of Technology of the University of Ibadan.

Mr. Oyelakin is being awarded a scholarship for a Masters' degree course in Mechanical Engineering at the University of Ibadan.

The third awardee this year is

Miss. Oluwatoyin Abimbola Awe.

Miss Awe, please come up to the rostrum.

Miss Awe is a 1995 graduate of the Faculty of Pharmacy of the Obafemi Awolowo University. She graduated with a distinction, and she is currently doing a Master of Science degree program in the department of Pharmaceutics, at the faculty of Pharmacy of the Obafemi Awolowo University.

She attended the Staff School of the Obafemi Awolowo University at Ile-Ife for her primary schooling and the Moremi High School at the Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, where she got distinctions in all her GCE O'level exams subjects.

Miss Awe will be pursuing a Ph.D program in Pharmaceutics at the Faculty of Pharmacy of the Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife.

Ladies and gentlemen, please CONGRATULATE the distinguished awardees of the 6th Annual Postgraduate Scholarship Award of the Stephen Oluwole Awokoya Foundation for Science Education, Mr. CHUKWUEMEKA NWORU, MR. JOHN OYELAKIN AND MISS OLUWATOYIN AWE

On behalf of the Board of trustees of the Stephen Oluwole Awokoya Foundation For Science education, I hereby present to you the award of postgraduate scholarship.

I wish you every success in your academic endeavours.

Dr. Fola Awokoya - Member, Board of Trustees